28 Mar

This remind me of the film Page One: Inside the New York Times and how it was such a big deal for newspapers to switch to online services. I think people don’t really give enough credit to newspapers nowadays though, whether online or in print. People don’t realize how necessary they are to our daily lives. Usually, most people get their news from those reporters, so without it, we’d have a very narrow string of news we receive each day or even just the timely manner, I feel would totally change too. Yes, I know there’s things like twitter that are in a way replacing the medium now, but I still don’t feel it’s the same.. I mean 140 characters versus a whole column.. Really?

News Hack

Here’s the news peg: The Boston Globe this morning announced something that sounds much more interesting than it actually is. Their new ePaper sounds like the best of both worlds, seeing the print version the same way on your iPad as in your hands as a newspaper.

To be fair, if I were still working for a newspaper, I’d love this announcement. The time and energy and sweat I’ve spent laying out pages, only to have Quark XPress self-destruct before you’ve hit save, is essentially vindicated now that my blood and tears are now available for the anti-print crowd to see on their techie devices. And I understand there is a market for such things as the ePaper, especially at publications that treat their website and Internet presence as an afterthought.

View original post 230 more words

Leave a Reply

