R.I.P. Our old/traditional ways

26 Jan

So I was reading a post called “That Kodak Moment” from the http://opinionehted.com blog and I really do agree that “film is officially dead.”

I remember when I would have to stand there while my mom scrolled the dial, then clicked..before she got her digital camera. She’d get doubles of all the pictures and save them all in a big box. Now, when I go home, I like to go to that box and look at all the pictures while reminiscing on my childhood. Since my mom has gotten her digital camera though, I haven’t been able to really do that because the pictures either just sit on her camera or end up on Facebook. I mean it’s nice to be able to have just one space in your computer to store all the pictures, but I just don’t get that same feeling or experience by just looking at it on Facebook.

Yes, if my mom still used the old disposable cameras, I would be terribly embarrassed, but at least I know I would physically be able to have those memories. I know you can still print out pictures from a digital camera too, but my mom hasn’t quite gotten that technically savy yet. And just the fact that she can view them on her camera and not have to worry about losing them is a plus I guess, but it’d be nice to have both.

I’m not saying the change into digital media is bad, but it seems like we get lazier and just depend on technology to do everything for us nowadays.

Leave a Reply

